Great Scot Archive
Issues from 1998
Issues from 1998


All-rounder Nathan Douglas wins Cohen Trophy.

All-rounder Nathan Douglas (11MN) has won the 2015 H I Cohen Trophy, which is awarded annually to the ‘best all-rounder’ in the 1st XI,.based on a system under which runs, catches, wickets and the like earn points for each player..

Nathan won the batting average with 276 runs at 30.6, took 13 wickets, and held many fine catches in the slips. His exploits won him a place in the APS representative team.

1st XI Coach John Murphy said Nathan had been impressive in both his attitude and performances during the season. ‘He is a keen competitor and has the ability to lift his team through his actions,’ John said.



Nathan has signed his name in a beautifully bound book which records the names of all H I Cohen Trophy winners since 1921. Highly valued by our cricketers, the Cohen Trophy is named in honour of a great Old Scotch Collegian, Henry Isaac Cohen, who attended Scotch from 1885 to 1889. He was a keen cricketer at school, and also played for Melbourne University. A fine student, Cohen was Dux of Scotch in mathematics and classics, and at university he won exhibitions each year before graduating in arts and law.

He built up a very successful legal practice, and was appointed a King’s Counsel in 1920.

Cohen stood successfully for the Melbourne Province in the Victorian Legislative Council in the early 1920s, and held several ministerial portfolios.

A loyal and energetic supporter of Scotch all his life, Cohen was a great supporter of the purchase of the Hawthorn site, and one of the larger donors to the fund to purchase the site. He was a foundation member of OSCA, its president in 1921 and 1922, and a senior patron and strong supporter of the Old Scotch Football Club. Cohen’s sons, Russell (‘19), Bryan (‘21) and Colin (‘25), all attended Scotch.

Henry Cohen presented the ‘trophy’ in 1921, which is a book in which the winner’s name is inscribed each year, and which each winner signs in the presence of his team-mates. Among those who have signed the book are three who have gone on to represent Australia – Ben Barnett (’25), Colin McDonald (‘46) and Bob Cowper (‘58).

Updated: 3 October 2016